labay

Emmy as in award

In Entertainment, Fashion on September 22, 2008 at 9:10 pm

There are a gazillion ways I can spend a quaint evening home. One way is to plop down on my denim couch with a glass of wine in hand while watching the red carpet taping of any major award show.  And so this past weekend I tuned in to the Emmy’s. Take a gander at the gowns I thought were fan-tab-u-lous because of their vibrant hues, fluttery fabrics, and cuts. And don’t be shy. Feel free to comment whether you agree with these picks or not.

Brooke Shields in Badgeley Mischka

Brooke Shields in Badgley Mischka

I’ve loved Christina Applegate ever since she played dimwit Kelly on “Married with Children.” She’s so cute and spunky, and I really love her in this dress.  Ooh…it shimmers.

Christina Applegate in Reem Acra

Christina Applegate in Reem Acra

Chandra Wilson is doctor don da da on Grey’s Anatomy.  Her acting commands attention and her character doesn’t F around.  Chandra’s a petite, curvy gal who knows what works for her body type.  Kudos and a handful of Tootsie Rolls (you know, like candy found in a doctor’s office), Chandra, for pulling off this ensemble.

Chandra Wilson in Tadashi Shoji

Chandra Wilson in Tadashi Shoji

Heidi Klum struts her stuff in this glimmering Giorgio Armani Prive.  You definitely need some height to rock this. It’s polarizing, I’m aware. But it’s Heidi and I really like her. When I really like someone I see more of the good than the bad so I’m giving her the green light.

Heidi Klum in Gorgio Armani Prive

Heidi Klum in Giorgio Armani Prive

Last year, I nabbed a pair of strappy yellow BCBG shoes at a discounted price. I was gleeful as hell. This year I added  to my collection of leathery yellow things a vintage leather Kenneth Cole tote and a clutch of the same hue made by Donald J. Pliner. I told close girl pals (because they’re the only ones who’d tolerate prattling on such trivial matters) that yellow is the new black. To support my fashion theory, I present to you Mariska Hargitay in this sizzling Carolina Herrera gown.  Grrr…sassy!

Mariska Hargitay in Carolina Herra

Mariska Hargitay in Carolina Herrera

The exposure in this shot is a tad high, making Mariska’s hot number look blinding – you know, kinda like staring straight into the sun.  But I really want you to see the full shot because this dress is so fan-tab.

Mariska Hargitay

Mariska Hargitay

I think Ellen Pompeo’s character Dr. Meredith Grey should be written into a season-long coma so that the scene-stealing Sandra Oh could get more face time. We could all breathe a sigh of relief as Grey’s whining and aimless analysis about whether she should commit to McDreamy would be muted for at least a while. 

Sandra Oh in Oscar de la Renta

Sandra Oh in Oscar de la Renta

And lastly, it’s Ms. America a.k.a Wilhelmina a.k.a the diva, Vanessa Williams, in a Kevin Hall gown. I got a chance to see a runway show earlier this year that featured Kevin Hall designs. I really liked what I saw – lots of floor-length gowns emblazoned with bold prints. – MJ

Vanessa Williams in Kevin Hall

Vanessa Williams in Kevin Hall

 

 

 

  1. I love Ellen Pompeo and she was definately snubbed. She deserves an award. she does amazing work on Grey’s. As much as I love Snadra Ohs work, No one can do to Grey’s what Ellen did by playing Meredith. Sandra did good with that dress, so did CW.

  2. Nice dresses. nice ladies.
    but I agree with the poster above, Pompeo is a huge force behind Grey’s, she deserves award recognition. Sandra Oh Chandra Wilson, I didn’t think they would win, I was hoping I would be wrong. oh well, always next year.

    Broook sheilds, big no no.

  3. Guys, really? Really? I totally agree that Ellen Pompeo is the face of Grey’s but c’mon. Sandra Oh and Chandra Wilson can steal a scene like that! I’m totally jiving. LOL. One too many cups of coffee. Any who, thanks a ton for the response. And, Adam, I could see how Shields’ dress might be polarizing but the color is so fun. Ooh…

Leave a Reply

