labay

Gays and the Caribbean

In Caribbean interest on October 14, 2008 at 8:31 pm

Upon perusing the Internet this week, trolling for interesting reads, I happened to spot a Jamaican Gleaner headline about homosexuals in the West Indies. The article reported that gays and lesbians are slowly but progressively becoming more accepted in the region.

I thought to myself, hmm, that’s good news. Now let’s pick up the pace with this movement.

If you’re anything like one of my close friends, who is way more Caribbean than I, you’re probably mouthing, “Naw, mon!” topped with expletives galore.  

But MJ is a progressive sistah.   

Hence, my staunch support of Barack Obama and love of all things James Baldwin, who by the way was gay (rest his civil rights-fighting soul).

I’m for equal rights across the board. No excuses. No varied justification why one human being shouldn’t be afforded rights and liberties enjoyed by others. No huffing and puffing lest you’re auditioning for a fable role as the wolf going all roughshod on those porky Three Little Pigs. 

Now if you’re saying, “Well, Barack doesn’t support gay marriage,” my response is, guess what Sherlock? He’s likely running a Jimmy Carter circa 1976 when the beloved 39th president ran as a moderate against the racist George Wallace.

It’s totally an assumption on my part that Barack may pull a gotcha on the people once he gets to the White House and bolster gay and lesbians’ rights. But let’s say, he doesn’t attempt to further tackle this divisive issue with deep-diving reform. At the least, he recognizes the gay and lesbian community as that – a community of people with blood coursing through their veins just like you and I.

Moving along, and attempting to stay on track cuz I get stir crazy and all kinds of distracted when it comes to the Obamas

I’ve always found the treatment of gays and lesbians in the West Indies disturbing, and quite frankly, archaic. 

Didn’t Buju Banton say something about batty boy fi dead?

I like Buju but I’m not taking a murder rap because some ladies and gents prefer to play for the other team. That’s their business. I’m not wasting studio time (if I were a recording artist, of course) or any other time brooding over matters that are out of my control. In the famed words of Whitney Houston, “Hell to the naw!”

In short, I believe people should be respected no matter their sexual orientation or beliefs. I’m not into gay bashing or any other kind of bashing.

MJ is throwing that type of behavior in her “uncool” bin right atop the mound of garbage marked “perpetrating down-low brothas”. I just got the heebie-jeebies at the thought of DLB (down-low brothas). 

Any who, I’m pleased that the Caribbean region is catching up to the times. No pun intended but it’s about time. – I’m MJ and I’m not running for president and I approve this message.

This innocent country set you down in a ghetto in which, in fact, it intended you should perish. Let me spell out precisely what I mean by that, for the heart of the matter is here, and the root of my dispute with my country. You were born where you born and faced the future that you faced because you were black and for no other reason. The limits of your ambition were, thus, expected to be set forever. You were born into a society which spelled out with brutal clarity, and in as many ways as possible, that you were a worthless human being.  – by the great James Baldwin’s “My Dungeon Shook.”  

 

 


      

  1. This is a really refreshing post. Thank you!

  2. Glad you enjoyed, Maria! – MJ

Leave a Reply

