labay

Granny

In Personal on November 6, 2008 at 9:43 pm

My grandmother died more than 10 years ago. I knew her as mammy. I never got to tell her how much I loved her. I never really got to show her. In the all the years that I knew granny, she wore a crown of gray hair; she was a fair, loving, hard-working woman. She was altruistic. She’d share food with those less fortunate in our Grenadian neighborhood. The size of her heart couldn’t be measure with the ocean. 

Even though my mother was present in my life, she – my granny- took on a maternal role, particularly in the first 10 years of my life. I remember when she’d take me and a group of cousins to the beach, church and annual island carnivals. She spent many hours minding us while our parents worked long hours to provide for the family. We are all deeply grateful.

She fed us, bathed us, clothed us. She also didn’t spare the rod when our behavior required discipline. She fought for her grandchildren in every imaginable way. Granny made our young lives enjoyable. She instilled in us morals, respect, unity and hard work. That’s why today we’re successful as a family.

Granny was one of my heros. I love her tremendously. – MP   

 

  1. Great story I find a lot of traits with your grand mother in my mother
    keep up the good work continue giving us honest & meaningful insights and stories like this most of us shares a connection w/ someone like “Mammy” either directly or indirectly…write on brother………

Leave a Reply

